Nicky Romero / Dance Chart

Who is Nick Rotteveel?

"The main aim is to up my game at every possible turn without compromise.” – Nicky Romero

"The word wunderkind was pretty much invented for the likes of 24-year-old producer Nicky Romero.” – DJMag

Strike up a conversation about the current state of EDM and it won’t be long before Nicky Romero gets an emphatic mention. The breakthrough star with the bulletproof work ethic is credited as a driving force behind the fantastic health the scene currently enjoys. In every aspect of his life – as DJ, producer and label head – he is a tireless advocate for his art. Couple this with his distinctive signature sound and compelling output, and it is no surprise that he exploded into the DJ Mag Top 100 chart at number 17 in 2012, the highest new entry that year, and rose up to number 7 in 2013.

Nicky Romero, real name Nick Rotteveel, was born January 6th 1989 in the small city of Amerongen, Holland. A keen interest in the drums and an early career spinning house and r&b quickly evolved into an unbridled passion for music production. Early releases, picked up by boutique outfit Once Records, caught the attention of some of the more established labels: Spinnin’, Fly Eye, Toolroom and Flamingo Recordings.

As he worked on honing his sound – a seductive blend of progressive house tinged with electro and acid – he sent a bootleg of David Guetta smash "When Love Takes Over” out into the world. The track’s online success piqued the interest of Guetta himself and in that moment Romero found his mentor and champion. They have since collaborated on multiple projects including "Metropolis” and "Wild One Two,” and in the summer of 2012 Nicky Romero accepted a residency at David Guetta’s infamous FMIF club night at Pacha/Ushuaia Ibiza.

Today, Nicky Romero is paying it forward with his Protocol brand that is quickly establishing itself as a leading dance music platform - a go-to outlet for forward-thinking dance music. Championing up and coming artists, like Don Diablo, John Dahlback, Vicetone, Kryder, Michael Calfan and Merk & Kremont, with his record label, club night and radio show, Romero extends his influence to help develop the next generation of artists, while also supporting more established acts such as Calvin Harris, R3hab, Nervo, Krewella and Bassjackers, amongst others. With the label’s releases consistently flowing in the Beatport top 10, it is clear that its impact is being heard around the world. Furthermore, Protocol Radio, a weekly show syndicated to more than 60 radio stations on FM, receives over 40 million listeners every week and it continues to grow at a rapid rate. 

Recent studio output includes "S.O.T.U.,” a single released on Steve Angello’s label Size Records, the worldwide hit, "Legacy” with Krewella, his solo single, "Symphonica,” his UK #1 "I Could Be The One” with Avicii, and remixes for Zedd, Calvin Harris, and more. Additionally, Romero has produced Rihanna’s track, "Right Now,” together with David Guetta, as well as two tracks for Britney Spears. Whether it’s his own original song, a collaboration, or an inventive remix, he consistently receives massive support from a veritable who’s who of dance music aristocracy.

Romero is a force to be reckoned with not only as a producer but also as a DJ. Behind the decks his tenacity and ability to work a room was rewarded as he rounded out an intense international touring schedule including his Nothing Toulouse North American headline tour, his residency at The Light Las Vegas, Coachella, Sensation White, and mainstage appearances at Ultra Music Festival, Electric Daisy Carnival Las Vegas, Tomorrowland, and countless others. One of his stand-out performances of 2013 was at Tomorrowworld where he was the first DJ to play equipped with Google Glass. On top of his own gigs, he produced Protocol Recordings label nights in Miami and Amsterdam that were both a smashing success.

Building upon his accolades, such as his MTV EMA nomination for Best Dutch Act, and prosperity in 2013, Nicky Romero continues to make his indelible mark on the music industry that can be felt in the hearts of his devoted fans. Pushing relentlessly forward with the wind at his back and a new professional studio, he will begin the next era of his career with a debut album coming in 2014. With these plans and much more to come, the Nicky Romero brand is expected to grow and mature, becoming an increasingly influential and venerated force in the international music arena.

27 Sep 2015

01 Will K - Prague
02 Tom Tyger & Corey James - Naboo
03 Dubvision X Alesso X Coldplay - Fix Your Destinations With Heart
04 Nilson & Freddy See Ft. Laurell - Out There
05 Borgeous ft. M. Bronx - Souls
06 Thomas Gold & Deniz Koyu - Never Alone
07 Corey James & Will K - Covka
08 Marc Benjamin x Lady Bee ft Feliciana - Bodyrocks (Rock My Body)
09 Bobby Rock feat. Grace Brundy - Find My Own Way Home
10 Wrechiski - Riptide

Posted: 28 Sep 2015
20 Sep 2015

01 Faya - Rock The House
02 Florian Picasso Vs Swanky Tunes Vs John Newman - Blitz Me Origami
03 Tom Fall & JES - Come Back
04 Lush & Simon - The Universe
05 Sandro Silva & Thomas Newson - Vandals
06 R3hab & Headhunterz - Won't Stop Rocking
07 KURA & Tony Junior – King Kong
08 Volt & State VS. John Christian - Down
09 Estiva & Skouners feat Delaney Jane - Playing With Fire
10 Tom Tyger & Andero - Let It Go

Posted: 19 Sep 2015
13 Sep 2015

01 Will K - Here Comes The Sun (Tom Staar Remix)
02 ZAXX - Guess Who
03 Alpharock & Vida - Guitar Hero
04 Thomas Newson & Marco V feat Rumors - Together
05 The Chain Smokers - Until You Were Gone
06 Pep & Rash x Shermanology - Sugar
07 Volt & State - Haunted
08 Matisse & Sadko - Lock 'N' Load
09 USAI - Vapor
10 Deborah Cox - Its Over Now (Sash Remix)

Posted: 14 Sep 2015
6 Sep 2015

01 Disco Fries feat Fatman Scoop - Volume
02 Thomas Hayes feat Joni Fatora - Neon (Element Six Remix)
03 Codeko - Lunar
04 Swanky Tunes & Playmore - I Need U
05 Borgeous & Ryos - Machi
06 DVBBS - Never Leave
07 Jack & Jordan - Somebody
08 twoloud & Qulinez - Perfection
09 Amersy - Paradox
10 Yuksel Urer - I Need Love

Posted: 05 Sep 2015
30 Aug 2015

01 Vee Brondi, Marco Hanna & Marcelo Sa - Body Bang
02 Dash Berlin feat Jonathan Mendelsohn - World Falls Apart (Thomas Gold)
03 Michael Woods - Easy Tiger
04 D-Wayne - Never Had [WALL]
05 Stadiumx, Dzasko feat. Delaney Jane - Time Is On Your Side [ARMADA]
06 Faithless - Insomnia (Fedde Le Grand Remix)
07 Florian Picasso - Outline [WHITE LABEL]
08 Rush West - HOAX [ARMADA]
09 Jaz Von D, USAI X Adrian Lux - Teenage Prophecy (F3DE Private Edit)
10 X feat CHEAT CODES - Hold On

Posted: 29 Aug 2015

Το www.radio1.gr έχει την άδεια της ΑΕΠΙ. Τα μουσικά έργα παρέχονται μόνο για ιδιωτική χρήση κάθε επισκέπτη/χρήστη και απαγορεύεται η με οποιονδήποτε τρόπο περαιτέρω εκμετάλλευση αυτών χωρίς την προηγούμενη άδεια της ΑΕΠΙ.